In reviewing the time off policies of New Jersey businesses, it is clear to me that many of them are unaware of a statute that has been in effect since October of 2018, the New Jersey Earned Sick Leave Law.
The New Jersey Earned Sick Leave Law states that an employee will accrue up to 40 hours of sick time at a rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked. This applies to full-time, part-time and temporary employees at all New Jersey businesses.
So, for the client who told me he has 15 part-timers working only 20 hours a week and does not provide them with sick days, I needed to tell him he can’t continue that practice.
For a business owner who wanted to offer new hires 10 vacations days, two personal days, and three sick days, I said she “probably” would be in violation of the law .
This statute can be cumbersome to comply with from an administrative standpoint. There are, however, ways to do it that will ensure you are not breaking the law, while also having a time off plan that is not overly burdensome to administer.
Additionally, you need to ensure you have the New Jersey Earned Sick Leave Law posted in the workplace and updated each year. You also have to provide notice of the law to every new hire.
Marzano Human Resources Consulting can review all your policies to ensure you are in compliance with federal, NJ State and local statutes. Just as important, we will offer guidance on the development of policies which will make your business attractive to applicants and current employees at a time in which competition for talent is fierce.